Key features of the Qualified Lawyers Transfer Scheme

To be admitted as a solicitor via the Qualified Lawyers Transfer Scheme you must:

  • be a qualified lawyer
  • this means we have determined that your qualification as a lawyer:

    • gives you rights of audience;
    • makes you an officer of the court in the jurisdiction in which you have qualified; and
    • has been awarded as part of a generalist (non-specialist) legal education and training

  • from a recognised jurisdiction
  • this means that you have qualified in a jurisdiction where:

    • to qualify as a lawyer specific education and training at least equivalent to that of an English and Welsh Bachelor's degree has been completed;
    • members of the qualified lawyers' profession are bound by an ethical code which requires them to act without conflict of interest and to respect their clients interests and confidentiality; and
    • qualified lawyers are subject to disciplinary sanctions for breach of the profession’s ethical code, including removal of the right to practise.
  • meet our requirements for character and suitability. We have a duty to consider the character and suitability of anyone who wishes to enter the profession, and we must make sure that any individual admitted as a solicitor has, and maintains, the level of honesty, integrity and professionalism expected by the public and other stakeholders and professionals. This must not pose a risk to the public or profession. We assess character and suitability issues against the criteria set out in our Suitability Test.
  • successfully complete the QLTS assessments: the assessments assess the Day One Outcomes for solicitors.

The assessment

The assessment will test the Day One Outcomes. These set out the legal knowledge and skills which all solicitors must have at the point of qualification. There are two stages to the assessment:

  • the Multiple Choice Test (MCT): the MCT is a 5.5 hour 180 question test (in two sessions of 2.75 hours each) which assesses Part A of the Day One Outcomes.
  • the Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE)- this assesses part C, D and F of the Day One Outcomes. This means that the skills of interviewing, advocacy/oral presentations, legal research, legal drafting and legal writing in business, civil and criminal litigation, property and probate.

You must pass the MCT stage before you can progress onto the OSCE stage.

For details of the test locations please refer to the Kaplan website.

There is no restriction on the number of times you can attempt the assessments.*

* If you are a transition candidate and have passed the MCT and either the old OSCE or the old TLST but not both, you will be allowed to exhaust your entitlement to 3 attempts during the 5 year validity period of your Certificate of Eligibility by sitting either OSCE Part 1 or OSCE part 2 alone. If you are unsuccessful thereafter you will have to sit the OSCE as a whole. You will not be asked to retake the MCT.

Recognised jurisdictions

Please check the list of jurisdictions and qualifications which we recognise. All European jurisdictions to which Directive 2005/36/EC (Recognition of Professional Qualifications) applies are 'recognised jurisdictions' for the purpose of QLTS. If your jurisdiction or qualification is not recognised, you should contact your home bar or law society and ask them to contact us to request a survey for recognition.

Training for the assessment

We do not authorise organisations to provide training for the QLTS assessments. Kaplan does not provide training but there are a number of providers which do. As the provision of training is unregulated it is important that you check with the training provider that it meets your requirement.

English Language requirement

You do not have to provide separate evidence of your English language skills before registering for an assessment. However, you should make sure your standard of written, spoken, reading and listening English is appropriate for the assessment otherwise you are unlikely to pass.


If you are:

  • a lawyer qualified in the EEA/EU/Switzerland and seeking to qualify via Directive 2005/36/EC (Recognition of Professional Qualifications)
  • a lawyer qualified in Northern Ireland or Scotland
  • a barrister who has qualified in England and Wales who has completed a pupillage

you may be entitled to exemption from some or all of the assessments. This will depend upon the extent to which you have already met the Day One Outcomes. We will assess this based on the information which you include in your application to us.

All applicants

If you have successfully completed the LPC in England and Wales you can claim full exemption from the MCT.