News release

SRA announces a third new Board member

The SRA has today announced the appointment of David Heath, MP, to its Board.

Mr Heath CBE has been Liberal Democrat MP for the Somerset constituency of Somerton and Frome for 18 years, and he will be standing down from Parliament at the general election this year.

SRA Chair, Enid Rowlands, said: "I am delighted to welcome David to our Board. Together with our two other new members Elaine Williams and David Willis, whose appointments we also announced recently, he will bring a fresh range of knowledge and experience to our work as we oversee the delivery of our corporate strategy and business plan."


Note to editors

David Heath is a Liberal Democrat MP. He will stand down as MP for Somerton and Frome in 2015 after having been a member of parliament for 18 years, more recently as a senior government minister. He had 12 years of experience in leadership roles in local government before being elected as an MP. David originally trained and practised in ophthalmic optics before his election as a county councillor in 1985.

He has taken a keen interest in legal affairs during his period in parliament, having at various times acted as Shadow Lord Chancellor for the Liberal Democrats, and having been a member of the Justice Select Committee. He also has experience as a regulator, having been a member of professional regulatory bodies and a member of the Audit Commission prior to his parliamentary career.

Enid Rowlands officially took over as the first lay Chair of the SRA on 1 January 2015. Former Chair, Charles Plant, retired at the end of 2014.

Appointment process

The competitive appointment process was supported by recruitment agency Davidson and Partners. The appointment panel comprised Charles Plant, outgoing Chair of the SRA, Enid Rowlands, then Chair designate and Dame Denise Platt, Chair of the Commission for Social Care Inspection. Ninety four applications were received for the lay and solicitor posts.

The three new members replace retiring Board members Tom Keevil, Sara Nathan and Charles Plant.

SRA Board

The SRA Board consists of 15 members—seven solicitors and eight lay people, one of whom chairs the Board. Full details

Print page to PDF